Add Notes to a Drawing with ABViewer

Let's imagine a situation – you need to send a drawing you’re working on to your colleague (client, manager, etc.) so that he or she could add comments and notes. But you don't want the drawing to be somehow changed. What to do? The Redline mode was created exactly for situations like this. We are going to cover it in this article.

Redline is a mode of ABViewer that allows users to add comments and notes to a drawing. But the drawing itself remains unchanged, all notes are saved in a separate DXF file.

In order to add notes to a loaded drawing in ABViewer you should click the Mode button in the upper right corner of the program and select Redline.

Modes of ABViewer

The appeared red frame indicates that the Redline mode is activated – you can start adding necessary comments and notes (all the drawing and modifying tools are available, object snap is also active). When you finish you should go to the Advanced tab, open the Redline drop-down list and select Save Redline.

Possible actions with a Redline file

Redline file saving

As you see a file with notes is saved by default in the folder Redline. Its name consists of the loaded file's name and prefix "$$Model.DXF". If you do not change these parameters, next time when you open your drawing the file with notes will be automatically loaded. In case the file's name and/or path to it is changed you can load your notes using the Load Redline command. It is situated on the Advanced tab in the Redline group of tools. There you can also find the Hide/Show Redline command that is responsible for the visibility of notes.

We draw your attention to the fact that you can manage settings of the Redline mode on the Editors tab (File > Options > Editors). For example, it is possible to change the folder where files with notes are saved.

The Redline mode parameters

Speaking about the Redline mode we should also tell you about the special Markup mode that is activated on the Editors tab.

Activation of the Markup mode

After this mode turning on files will be opened without a possibility of editing — you can only add notes above a drawing. All notes are automatically placed on the layer named “markup" and saved in the original drawing, i.e. a separate file is not created as it was in the Redline mode.

So, for example, the Markup mode will come in handy if several people are working on drawings and you want to avoid undesirable changes in the source files.

We hope that this article will be useful to you!